About the Roman history of the region

The sou­thern Upper Rhi­ne regi­on is an old Roman ara­ble land. During the reign of Gai­us Juli­us Cae­sar the Rhi­ne beca­me the Roman impe­ri­al fron­tier. In the ear­ly 1st cen­tu­ry the ter­ri­to­ries on the eas­tern bank of the river Rhi­ne were secu­red by the Roman mili­ta­ry. The­re were mili­ta­ry bases in Rie­gel at the nort­hern edge of the Kai­ser­stuhl and on the Lim­berg clo­se to Sas­bach. Con­se­quent­ly, the Upper Rhi­ne regi­on was incorpo­ra­ted into the Roman Empi­re and beca­me den­se­ly popu­la­ted by civi­li­ans.

Clo­se to Grenz­ach, Aug­gen and Hei­ters­heim Roman farms had been built first and later they were exten­ded to enor­mous esta­tes. Nume­rous esta­tes in the area of the Roman town Augus­ta Rau­ri­ca and along the sou­thern Upper Rhi­ne, loca­ted in Wyh­len, Rhein­fel­den-Nol­lin­gen, Lör­rach-Brom­bach, Fischin­gen, Efrin­gen-Kir­chen and in Müll­heim, as well as lar­ger colo­nies such as tho­se in Bad Kro­zin­gen show evi­dence of the region’s pro­spe­ri­ty which was also due to the fer­ti­le soil. Clo­se to Bad Bel­lin­gen and Schli­en­gen signs of Roman iron mining were found. A cura­ti­ve spring rep­re­sen­ted the ori­gin for the sett­le­ment of Baden­wei­ler. Sub­se­quent­ly, the Romans built up around this spring the big­gest ther­mal spa on the right bank of the Rhi­ne. At that time Rie­gel was an admi­nis­tra­ti­ve cent­re. An important mar­ket basi­li­ca and fur­t­her ruins of a Roman town were dis­co­ve­r­ed the­re.

After having lost the ter­ri­to­ry of the Pro­vin­ce Ger­ma­nia Supe­ri­or on the right bank of the Rhi­ne in the 3rd cen­tu­ry, the Romans forti­fied the Rhi­ne fron­tier again. In the 4th cen­tu­ry they built Roman forti­fi­ca­ti­ons on the Rhi­ne; for examp­le the bridge cast­le near Wyh­len, the fort on the Müns­ter­berg in Brei­sach and the fort­let in Jechtin­gen. This Danu­be-Iller-Rhi­ne Limes, built in the late anti­qui­ty, rep­re­sen­ted the last Roman fron­tier in this regi­on and it was in exis­tence until the 5th cen­tu­ry.

Zur römischen Geschichte der Region

 

Das süd­li­che Ober­rhein­ge­biet stellt ein altes römi­sches Kul­tur­land dar. Der Rhein wur­de unter Gai­us Juli­us Cae­sar römi­sche Reichs­gren­ze. Schon im frü­hen 1. Jahr­hun­dert erfolg­te die Siche­rung der Gebie­te öst­lich des Rheins durch das römi­sche Mili­tär. Früh­rö­mi­sche Kas­tel­le lagen in Rie­gel, auf dem Lim­berg bei Sas­bach und bei Offen­burg. An der Fern­stra­ße von Augst nach Mainz wur­den römi­sche Stra­ßen­sta­tio­nen bei Her­bolz­heim, Frie­sen­heim und Hoh­berg-Nie­der­schopf­heim ein­ge­rich­tet.

Inner­halb des römi­schen Impe­ri­ums ent­wi­ckel­te sich im Ober­rhein­ge­biet eine dich­te zivi­le Besied­lung. Römi­sche Guts­hö­fe ent­stan­den bei Grenz­ach, Aug­gen, Müll­heim und Hei­ters­heim, die zu gro­ßen Land­gü­tern aus­ge­baut wur­den. Zahl­rei­che Guts­hö­fe ent­lang des Ober­rheins wur­den aus­ge­gra­ben, wie bei­spiels­wei­se bei Wyh­len, Rhein­fel­den-Nol­lin­gen und Lör­rach-Brom­bach, Fischin­gen, Efrin­gen-Kir­chen und Ken­zin­gen. Grö­ße­re Sied­lun­gen ent­stan­den unter ande­rem in Bad Kro­zin­gen, Lahr und Offen­burg. Römi­scher Berg­bau auf Eisen wur­de bei Bad Bel­lin­gen, Schli­en­gen, Rings­heim, Etten­heim und Mahl­berg nach­ge­wie­sen. Eine Heil­quel­le begrün­de­te die Besied­lung Baden­wei­lers mit der Anla­ge des größ­ten Ther­mal­ba­des rechts des Rhei­nes. Ein zen­tra­ler Ver­wal­tungs­mit­tel­punkt mit gro­ßer Markt­ba­si­li­ka ent­stand in Rie­gel.

Nach­dem im 3. Jahr­hun­dert das rechts­rhei­ni­sche Gebiet der Pro­vinz Ober­ger­ma­ni­en für das Impe­ri­um ver­lo­ren gegan­gen war, wur­de die Rhein­gren­ze erneut befes­tigt. Im 4. Jahr­hun­dert ent­stan­den spät­an­ti­ke Wehr­an­la­gen am Rhein, zu denen das Brü­cken­kas­tell bei Wyh­len, das Kas­tell auf dem Müns­ter­berg von Brei­sach und das Kle­in­kas­tell bei Jechtin­gen zäh­len. Die­ser spät­an­ti­ke Donau-Iller-Rhein Limes bil­de­te die letz­te römi­sche Grenz­zie­hung in die­ser Regi­on und bestand bis in das 5. Jahr­hun­dert.